top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTina Makuto

#WeTheStudentsDoNotConsent



 

On September 21st, 2018, I and thousands of other highschool students across Ontario walked out of classrooms to protest the Ford administrations revert to the 1998 sexual education curriculum. The time in which the walkout started differed from school to school, some walked out at 1pm and others (like my school) left at 2pm. The time however, is such a miniscule factor of this amazing day; one that I, and all the other awesome, strong girls who organized the walkout/protest for my school- Danforth Collegiate and Technical Institute will never forget. So here is a very delayed, yet just as important reflection of September 21st in my words and why protests are so important. Remember, if you’re not outraged you’re not paying enough attention!


There’s no better feeling in this world than feeling one hundred and fifty percent satisfied with your own work, no better feeling than looking at something that you have worked so hard for, that you’ve put so much into and knowing that, that was your best. That was basically everything I felt towards the walkout, from planning it alongside an amazing group of hardworking girls, to rallying up people/interest on social media and even making posters. I will never forget the nerve I felt when I walked out the front steps of my school at 1:45pm, greeted by nobody else other than my fellow organizers. Then to see the front steps that just, 15 minutes prior were completely empty, fill up with around 100 of my peers- other students right at 2:00pm was appalling in all definitions of the word. I was shocked, overwhelmed and so happy with the turnout, not that I didn’t think people wouldn’t show up rather I didn’t think people would really care. I don’t know how that sounds and I really don’t want that to sound condescending in any way, I just genuinely didn’t think people would care about this thing that was way too quickly, put together on very short notice. However, people were there and they cared! To stand at the top of my schools steps inciting a (peaceful) protest amongst my peers was something I never thought I’d do. Once again not because I didn’t want to, but rather because I didn’t think I had it in me.


The remainder of the hour was a blur, I read aloud an open letter written by myself on behalf of the students directed to Doug Ford, we went on a march around the block and conducted a little protest chanting a few messages. It was all so amazingly powerful and as I look back on the countless videos/pictures I have documenting everything that occured that afternoon I still am at a loss of words. We, as young people, as the next generation have the power, we will create change as long as we are educated and eager to do so. This day definitely showed that not just to myself and the students, but the teachers of our school, and the older generation. That we, as students do not blindly accept everything that occurs within our education, that we refuse to go back to a curriculum that does not cover half of the issues that students of this day and age face. Despite the fact that this curriculum revert affects elementary students more than it does highschool students is incredibly besides the point, as young people we are all in this together. I will use the voice and the platforms that I have available to me to fight any and every injustice that I see for any and every group that may not be able to do so.


So, to Doug Ford, his administration and everyone out there who is doubting the integrity of a couple of “dumb, young, angry high schoolers”. This is not the end of our fight, we are so very far from being close to the end. We will never stop protesting, we will never stop writing angry open letters, we will never stop showing our public disdain towards any and all decision that does not align with a progressive society we want to see for ourselves. And, we don’t care, we don’t care what you might say or what you might try to implement, we are the change we want to see in the world and we’re going to do everything in our power to create that change.


Lastly, to students everywhere, use your voice! Don’t be afraid to speak up against any and all wrong doings you see within the education system, this is our lives we don’t have to sit back in fear, we are allowed to protest, we are allowed to want change. Once again we are the change, we are the generation that will change the ways of the past, but in order to do so we must do something now. So please get up, get out and get mad!


Love,

Birdy.

P.S: “If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor.” -Desmond Tutu.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

© 2023 by DAILY ROUTINES. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page